The Netherlands Antilles, small islands of the Caribbean, were dissolved in 2010, but for convenience we leave the page active, even though the different islands have been treated separately. They are:
- BES Islands (now reinstated in the Netherlands):
Sint Eustatius

- Other islands:
Sint Maarten

From the climatic point of view, the islands should instead be grouped according to their geographical proximity, so on the one hand we have Sint Maarten, Saba and Sint Eustatius, located further north, which have a more rainy climate, around 1,000/1,200 millimetres (40/43 inches) of rain per year, on the other hand, the more southern and arid islands of Aruba, Curaçao and Bonaire (also called "ABC Islands") which lie off the coast of Venezuela.